ToDay…

English: The lonely Poppy Near the entrance to...

English: The lonely Poppy Near the entrance to Home Farm adjacent to Broad Balk Lane. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

ToDay


–Betty MacDonald. ” when I am lonely, I think of Angels”

We need comfort when we feel lonely. Loneliness is often coupled with fear. We wonder, Can I handle what faces me today? Often we think we can’t. But we don’t ever have to face any situation alone, or handle any painful relationship in isolation. The “angels” who guide and protect us are as close as our thoughts.

Twelve Step programs give us the freedom to define our Higher Power in any way that suits us. Believing our Higher Power is an angel satisfies our need to have someone watching over us, protecting us wherever we are, loving us despite our failings.

We are nurtured or harmed by the thoughts we carry in our minds. Imagining an angel or a ring of angels to walk us through each day relieves our loneliness and dissipates our fears.

I have a friend in my Higher Power. We’ll be together throughout this day.

how this applies to me today, I have been feeling lonely, isolated, unglued.  This reminded me I am not any of these things unless I choose to.  I may be feeling this way, but I choose to not let it define me.  Perhaps I am simply in a state of ” in between”.  This place is always uncomfortable for me.  It is out of my comfort zone.  But, as I read this, I am enlightened once again my the power of my choice.

2 Comments

02/05/2013 · 9:54 AM

2 responses to “ToDay…

  1. Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.

Leave a Reply

