Weekly Writing Challenge

There is nothing the same as reading a book for the very first time and holding it in your hands.  To turn the page back once again to see the table of contents.  To begin with the fresh smell of a new book. 

Reading via nook, i pad, etc are great and convenient.  It is new technology and I am sure will unfortunately be the way the tide turns over the next couple of generations.  I love my I PAD.  I am deaf, so i can download the audio cassettes and plug my cochlear into a special cable.  While i travel often, this is a convenience that i appreciate.

However, nothing will take the place of curling up in my favorite chair, and being able to focus so intently on a good book, that you lose all concept of time and where you even are.  You are mindful and of one when doing this.  An E reader, still serves as a convenience, but still has the distraction factor.  Whether it be that “let me check my email”, or the sun glare, or just the eyes getting blurry!

I vote 100% the old fashion way! Give me that good book anytime!

Ending Quote: A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face.  It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy.  ~Edward P. Morgan

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Challenges, Reality Based

Leave a Reply

